Becoming Holy

Humility

on March 22, 2015

“Lord, teach me to be generous. Teach me to serve you as you deserve; to give and not to count the cost, to fight and not to heed the wounds, to toil and not to seek for rest, to labor and not to ask for reward, save that of knowing that I do you will. Amen.”

~St.Ignatius

These words were much needed for my heart today. This morning, I was called to do something that takes me out of my comfort zone~making an announcement/promo before morning Mass~and I seriously did NOT want to do it. The thoughts that go through my mind ahead of time and during are something like this?  Is this too long?  Is it too short? Is the information there? ? Am I speaking too fast?  Too slow?  Does it speak to the parish? Will they hear me? Is the mic echoing? Are they frustrated with yet another announcement? Etc. Etc. I made it through…just over two minutes..with no way of knowing the answers to any of my questions. I came home to this beautiful quote by St. Ignatius and I realized my gift was simply giving the announcement. There is no need to count the cost. I have only to be generous with my time and seek to do His will.  

This is true of everything in life. How often do I count the cost before committing to something?  How often do I worry about my own woundedness before taking up the cross of Christ?  I am often more concerned with my own comforts, with my need to have a break, with my desire for an earthly reward than I am with investing 100% in following Jesus. St. Ignatius’ prayer is a gentle reminder that doing the will of God is all that matters. 

There is one full week of Lent left. Let this prayer be my focus as I seek to follow each day, each moment, how Jesus wants me to live. This prayer calls for both detachment and humility~two virtues I struggle to achieve. In big things, in small things, I want to do your will, Lord. 

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

