Becoming Holy

The One My Heart Loves

on March 17, 2015

GetAttachment (2)

I recently purchased a set of mugs from Day Spring.  I have wanted them for over a year and decided that our 25th Anniversary was a good cause for purchasing them.  Inside, printed under the rim of the cup, is the verse, “I found the one my heart loves.” ~Song of Solomon 3:4

GetAttachment (3)

There is something powerful about drinking coffee out of my “Mrs. Mug” and reading those words each morning. The words are both an affirmation and a reminder. I have found the one my heart loves. How am I showing that to him? Does he know by my words and actions the special place he holds in my heart? Do my actions sometimes convey, “I found the one I pay bills with and live in chaos with” ? I think each of us could insert our own sentence of what daily life looks like when we forget the gift of one another. 

For the record, the “Mr. Mug” has the exact verse inscribed inside. I couldn’t help but notice, while taking the “mug shot” for this blog, that the two mugs have sweet messages in how they are made.  The “Mr. Mug” is a stronger color and the band of white is located higher on the mug.  The “Mrs. Mug” is softer in color and has its word band just below that of the “Mr.”. This spoke to me of our roles as Mr. and Mrs.~with the husband as “Protector/Provider” and the wife as “Nurturer/Caregiver”. The woman carefully crafted by God from the rib of Adam~just below his heart~is visually made present in the “drop-down” effect of her title on the mug. 

Perhaps one of the most precious things I am noticing is that “Mr.” and “Mrs.” are actually “mr.” and “mrs.”.  Lower case letters. My heart tells me that the capital letters belong to Him. To God. To the One Who “mr.” and “mrs.” are called to rejoice in. Together. 

Perhaps we aren’t even the ones speaking. Maybe~just maybe~the words belong to the Father who loves us so much He sent His only Son to save us. I feel His presence here this morning.We are having coffee together and He speaks to my heart, “I have found the one my heart loves.” 

Me, too.

Sincerely,

GetAttachment

2 responses to “The One My Heart Loves

  1. Loretta Poxleitner says:

    So sweet! You’re such an inspiration, my friend! May you always feel the same delight every time you use your new mug! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Team Buna

Phillippians 4: 6-7 "Cast your cares upon the Lord & He will give you a peace and grace beyond understanding" ....in other words.... As Bob Marley sang it, "Say, don't worry, about a 'ting, cuz every little 'ting, is gonnna be alright!"

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

