Becoming Holy

No Retreat, (No) Surrender!

on March 14, 2015

048 (2)

Have you ever really wanted to do something and realized you were not going to get to be a part of it? Do you react like a spoiled child, stomping your feet and pouting?  Or do you react with grace and the realization that God has exactly where you need to be? This morning I am making a conscious decision to choose the second response, though everything in me wants to throw a tantrum.  Things are just not rolling out to get to a retreat I was hoping to go to today. 

God is calling me to “retreat” anyhow. To surrender. To raise the white flag. Lay my weapons down. Pick up the cleaning supplies instead. Yep. I like to clean the floor on my hands and knees and I am picturing God chuckling at this “new retreat” he had in store for me.  So…the Christian music is playing.  Even the songs are jabbing me.  “Build your Kingdom here. Change the atmosphere”, “Let my life be the proof of your Love”, and other treasures to remind me that today is NOT ABOUT ME.  

Or maybe it is. Maybe it is all about me. About my heart and the changes needed here. Maybe today is ALL about me. One definition of a retreat by good old Merriam Webster is  “a period of group withdrawal for prayer, meditation, study, or instruction under a director.”  I think today is a retreat of ONE (that being me) and the director being God’s voice in my heart. 

Here’s to a “do-it-yourself” retreat. To a surrendered heart. To truly living what God wants me to live. To a day of grace. To clean floors and a clean heart. Keeping you all in prayer.  

4 responses to “No Retreat, (No) Surrender!

  1. Wendy Nuxoll says:

    Trustful surrender is the only way to live!!! But I sure don’t do it most of the time! 🙂 Like my dear hubby says, “Blame it on Adam and Eve.” 🙂 We just keep trying, though, right Charlene? Keep trying to use each opportunity God presents to us to surrender ourselves, our lives, our desires, our plans, etc. more and more to Him. Thank you so much for sharing, Charlene. Love to you!!!

  2. Marilyn Lerandeau says:

    I am sorry you didn’t get to go to your retreat. I know you were excited about it. I know from experience that He is there with you cleaning, baking, etc. A day spent working side by side with Jesus is very rewarding. Enjoy your day Charlene.

Leave a Reply

Team Buna

Phillippians 4: 6-7 "Cast your cares upon the Lord & He will give you a peace and grace beyond understanding" ....in other words.... As Bob Marley sang it, "Say, don't worry, about a 'ting, cuz every little 'ting, is gonnna be alright!"

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

