Becoming Holy

We will miss you, Robin…

on August 14, 2014

Robin_Williams (1)

 

 

I don’t really have anything to say that isn’t already being said.  I am sad that Robin Williams is dead. I hurt that he was hurting. He has been part of my life for so long. Most of my generation were introduced to Robin in the TV series, “Mork & Mindy.” We grew up on his off-the-wall sense of humor. We saw his funny side. We saw his serious side. He could impersonate anyone and anything. He brought joy to our children as the genie in “Aladdin.” To be honest, Prince Charming and I laughed harder than our children at the multitude of clever jokes and inferences. Watching “Hook” as a family brought us all to the magical world of Never Land. Robin Williams brought movie after movie after movie of love, laughter, joy and sadness. 

Scrolling through Facebook a few days ago, I saw his face but didn’t have time to read the caption. I noticed his face pop up every few feeds and suddenly saw the words “Rest In Peace.” I cannot explain the feeling that went through me. “No, not Robin Williams!” That was before I even read the story about his possible suicide. This was too much to process. I sat at my screen, unable to take it in. Somehow, surprised and not surprised all at once, I felt physically sick at his leave-taking. Someone with such a desire to make people laugh had to understand what it feels like to have nothing to laugh about. A man so concerned about the military, about bringing joy to a fear-filled situation must understand what it is to be fearful. A man with addictions who continuously worked his way through rehab must understand what it is to be dependent on others. 

I have read all kinds of commentaries on Robin’s death. Many are kind and compassionate. Some cruel and critical. I can only speak for myself. I will miss you, Robin Williams. I will miss your voice (and your voices), your humor, your beautiful face. I will miss your soulful performances. I will miss your quick-wit. I will miss your compassion and understanding. I will miss your willingness to pick yourself up over and over again. I will miss your expressions of hope. I will miss your walking among us. 

I will remember you with compassion. I will remember that those among us who appear the happiest may be hiding inner pain. I will remember that laughter is important and love is even more important. I will remember that sometimes life seems burdensome and overwhelming and that I need to be present to those who are struggling. I will remember that even if I am present to those who struggle, it may not be enough. I will remember that God is big enough to enfold each of us in His mercy. I will remember you, Robin, and pray that you have found God’s perfect peace. 

2 responses to “We will miss you, Robin…

  1. Loretta poxleitner says:

    Well said, my dear. Well said. He was an amazing gift, as are you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Team Buna

Phillippians 4: 6-7 "Cast your cares upon the Lord & He will give you a peace and grace beyond understanding" ....in other words.... As Bob Marley sang it, "Say, don't worry, about a 'ting, cuz every little 'ting, is gonnna be alright!"

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

