Becoming Holy

A Heart full of Love

on September 6, 2013

Image

“The Passion of The Christ” is one of my all time favorite movies.  It’s hard to watch and even harder to process the kind of love it would take to die the death Jesus died. It’s the First Friday of the month again~a day to meditate on the Sacred Heart of Jesus and to unite our sufferings to His.  In Colossians 1:24, St. Paul says, “‘Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I am filling up what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ on behalf of his body, which is the church.’  This Scripture verse always bothered me and even more so after watching the Passion.  There was simply NOTHING lacking in the afflictions of Christ.  However, in digging deeper into this verse, I am particularly drawn to Scott Hahn’s explanation.  He compares this “lack” or “need” to that of a parent. Though we do not “need” our children to do the dishes or vacuum, we want them to grow up to be responsible adults so we allow and encourage them to help us for their own good.  Christ did not “lack” or “need” us to accomplish salvation but He chose freely to allow us to be part of His Body and to unite our suffering with His for the good of the Church.

It is also noted that though nothing is lacking in Christ or lacking in God the Father, there is definitely much lacking in the world.  The only reason there are people who lack food is because of a lack of generosity.  People lack clean water and clothing despite the extreme wealth of many.  I often lack the heart and hands of Christ.  There is more work to be done.  Without the Apostles we would not know the Good News.  We have each been commissioned to spread and to live the Gospel.  Until we do, the world will lack.  Jesus incorporates all of our help into His plan for the Salvation of the World.  First Friday is a beautiful reminder to add our sufferings and sacrifice and prayer to those of Christ. He desires that each of us have a heart like His.

The trick is, it is easy to talk about having a heart full of love.  Fantastic to blog about it, until one of the kids interrupts my holy thoughts and intentions and I have to LIVE my blog!  Seriously?!  Life would be so easy if I could just blog all my grand plans and ambitions without really having to put them into practice.  So…I will sign off and try to be a mom with a heart full of love.  If the going gets tough, I will remind myself to unite my sufferings to those of Christ.  After all, Paul has reminded me I am needed by Jesus. I remind myself how very much I need Him.

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

