Becoming Holy

Thank you, St. Michael!

on August 27, 2013

No photo.  This is it.  Our last night together in our home before the big transition.  What a journey this has been!  A week ago, Gabbie wrote a blog called “Go Away, Satan!”  I could easily have titled this the same.  It has been the week from you know where!  We have survived two hornet stings, a fall and injured shoulder, the dog’s surgical stitches rupturing, thunder storms, two trips to the Clinic and today, a toothache and emergency filling! To top it off, there is a scheduled power outage, so we will be getting up and ready to leave for our flight in the dark!!!  What are the odds?  All day long I have felt called to pray the prayer to St. Michael.  Please join me in this prayer for our family and yourselves this week.

St. Michael, the Archangel, defend us in battle.

Be our safeguard against the snares and wickedness of the devil.

May God rebuke him, we humbly pray,

And do thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Host, by the power of God,

Cast into hell, Satan, and all evil spirits, 

Who prowl about the world, seeking the ruin of souls.  Amen.

I prayed this as I mowed the lawn, as I drove, as we packed, at the dentist and throughout the entire day.  I know that St. Michael heard my prayer.  No one had an allergic reaction to the stings.  The shoulder was hurt not broken.  The dog survived the stitch rupture and is kenneled at the veterinary clinic for the week.  The Clinic visits resulted in improved outcomes.  Max’s toothache was today and not tomorrow on the plane.  The power outage forced us to load the van early and be totally prepared.  I feel like we have been pawns in a spiritual battle.  Satan seeking our injury and God denying him victory.  St. Michael standing guard along with our guardian angels~cheering us on our journey.

I knew to expect this.  A great thing is happening in our family.  A mighty work is about to unfold before our eyes.  Many people are about to be blessed as Jordan moves forward.  Despite the intense sorrow of seeing Jordan go, this chess game between evil and good has blessed me in many ways.  I am confident that this change is a good one.  No battle is fought if nothing is at stake.  But the battle rages on and so I trust that there is something worth fighting for, worth praying for.  I am reminded to thank God and praise Him at all times.  His mighty angel goes before us.  Our God is the God of angel armies.  Whom shall I fear?

2 responses to “Thank you, St. Michael!

  1. mommy24girls says:

    Thinking of you….I know your leaving soon. We are praying for safe travels ..love you all.

  2. Wende says:

    Oh boy! The devil sure was working hard against you, wasn’t he? Thankfully, God is more powerful, as is prayer, and God is certainly with you all as you are preparing to send Jordan on to do her life calling in serving God. Will continue to say prayers for your family, especially during this week. Knowing you will be creating more memories and sharing precious time with Jordan. Sending love to you all as you are headed out on the plane!

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

