Becoming Holy

As for me and my house…

on August 23, 2013

photo 1 (8)

I was speaking with a friend the other day about building our house and all that I envision it to be. It’s not so much about the structure as it is about what will happen there once it is built.  From day one, when we realized the extreme rockiness of the ground, we have felt the words of Scripture in our hearts~Luke 6:48  “That one is like a man building a house, who dug deeply and laid the foundation on rock; when a flood arose, the river burst against that house but could not shake it, because it had been well built.”  It’s more rock than one wants to see when digging ditches for power lines and sewer lines.  Geothermal energy became out of the question.  BUT…a house built on rock is a beautiful thing and challenges me to daily strive to build our lives on the true Rock~Jesus!

We have been blessed with incredible workers on this project and there has been an atmosphere of respect and kindness whenever I’ve been present. “For to this end we toil and strive, because we have our hope set on the living God, who is the Savior of all men, especially of those who believe.”  1 Timothy 4:10   Joe and I have felt incredibly blessed by each person involved in the building of our home~from the financial team to the builders, the subcontractors, the suppliers and designers.  It is a really beautiful thing to see the talents God has given each person on the team.  I marvel at the creative genius we have in our midst along with the technology and resources found in this area.  We pray for the safety of all working and thank God for their giftedness.  “God is not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him as you have helped his people and continue to help them.”  Hebrews 6:10

Early this spring, the mini-series, “The Bible,” came out and we were impressed by the theme, “God is With Us.”  It became our “go to” phrase when we panicked about the journey we were undertaking.  I would be in freak out mode, asking Joe what on earth we were thinking uprooting our family.  We would look at each other and say, “God is with us,” and it would calm my heart for a moment or two!  I have had a strong desire to place those words somewhere in our house~either on a sign or with vinyl letters.  I need the reminder because those panic moments are always going to be there.  Remembering that God is with us is important to my soul.  

photo 5 (6)

Along with the words, “God is with us,” I have hoped to bless our home by placing holy medals in the walls before it is dry walled.  In speaking with my friend, she mentioned a family who wrote the words of Scripture on the wall studs.  YES!  So off we went, Sharpie in hand, to write Scripture on the walls of the house.  It is still a work in progress~there is much to write.  Friends who were visiting on Gabbie’s birthday were given markers to write a favorite verse or quote or message in the house.  I will treasure all of these words and be reminded that we are standing on the word of God.  In Isaiah 55:11 we read,  “so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and succeed in the thing for which I sent it.”  Awesome!  Awesome!  Awesome!

photo 3 (7)

photo 4 (6)

Now the challenge will be to live up to these lofty plans~to stand on God’s word and strive daily to become the people He calls us to be.  I know we will stumble and fall.  I know there will be road blocks.  I know we will be called to choose on a daily basis how we are going to live. “Now if you are unwilling to serve the Lord, choose this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served in the region beyond the River or the gods of the Amorites in whose land you are living; but as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”  

photo 2 (8)

3 responses to “As for me and my house…

  1. Jackie says:

    Love it, Charlene! Holy Shapies!

    We all wrote our names up in the attic of our family homestead and the date of our birth and the date we wrote it. It was always fun to go up there and see it as we grew up. Unfortunately the family homestead was sold and has since been demolished. No matter what you can never demolish all of those memories.

    It is 1:27 p.m. and you are loved!

  2. Jackie says:

    I meant Holy Sharpies!

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

