Becoming Holy

Be It Ever So Humble…

on August 12, 2013

420-mother-teresa-prays-at-missionary.imgcache

Just popped on Facebook a minute ago and the first thing I see is this article on The Catholic Company’s website.  The title, “Mother Teresa’s Humility List,” caught my eye and I found myself drawn into the 15 things Mother Teresa recommends if one wants to grow in humility.  My eyes raced down the list and all I could think was YEGADS!  So NOT FUN!  Do you ever want to become more like someone without doing the work it took that person to become who they are?  I do.  All the time.  I find myself longing to be more like my mom and then realizing I would have to put everyone else’s needs above my own.  Simply cannot do that.  Hmm.

I have always admired Mother Teresa~I would love to have her heart.  A list like this speaks to me.  It’s like a Holy Bucket List!  Do all these things and you will be humble and wonderful like Mother Teresa.  Obviously, since I am blogging about this I am going to struggle with #1 on the list.  “Speak as little as possible about yourself.”  #’s 2, 3, and 4 seem to go together for me~in summation, I would title them the “Mind your own Business” rules.  The other 11 are a mix of tolerating irritations and not expecting to be esteemed by others.  It’s a tough list.  It’s a good list.  I’m sharing it here for anyone who is feeling called to pursue humility.

Mother Teresa’s Humility List

1. Speak as little as possible about yourself.

2. Keep busy with your own affairs and not those of others.

3. Avoid curiosity.

4. Do not interfere in the affairs of others.

5. Accept small irritations with good humor.

6. Do not dwell on the faults of others.

7. Accept censures even if unmerited.

8. Give in to the will of others.

9. Accept insults and injuries.

10. Accept contempt, being forgotten and disregarded.

11. Be courteous and delicate even when provoked by someone.

12. Do not seek to be admired and loved.

13. Do not protect yourself behind your own dignity.

14. Give in, in discussions, even when you are right.

15. Choose always the more difficult task.

There is a mighty task in front of each of us.  I’m not sure if the walk to humility is one that can be shared.  Seeking humility may just be a solo act.  Perhaps that is why that list was not released while Mother Teresa was alive.  She wouldn’t have allowed her virtues to be extolled.  On the other hand, she may have shared this with her fellow nuns, her companions~that they might walk together in pursuit of this virtue.  Humility practiced in community would surely be a mighty accomplishment.

I think, for now, I will print this list on paper and try to imprint it on my heart.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

