Becoming Holy

Bless The Lord, O My Soul!

on August 7, 2013

018

It’s one of those fabulous mornings.  The kind where you have the whole house to yourself because people have either left or are still asleep.  The air is crisp.   The birds are twittering.  The coffee is working its magic as I turn on the CD player.  A favorite, “10,000 Reasons” by Matt Redman, comes on and I cannot stop the satisfaction that pervades my being.  The initial invitation to bless the Lord and worship His holy name is followed by these beautiful words.  “The sun comes up.  It’s a new day dawning.  It’s time to sing your song again.  Whatever may pass and whatever lies before me.  Let me be singing when the evening comes.”  YES!  YES!  YES!  The sun is up.  The day has dawned.  I am called to sing for the Lord.  I do not know what the day will bring~good or bad.  At the end of the day, let me still be singing.  Let me sing God’s praise no matter what. Everything changes when the day is about God rather than me.  If my focus is on self, the day can easily fall apart.  Earthly worries and first-world problems will overwhelm me.  If my focus is on praising God, I will find good in each part of the day~knowing God is being honored in each moment.

The words from the song called to mind a conversation I recently had with my cousin, Fr. Reuben.  I’d asked him one way he would suggest a busy mom could grow in grace.  His response was simple and beautiful.  “Praise God,” Fr. Reuben suggested, “give Him thanks throughout the day.”  He spoke of the importance of praying to worship God, not just to ask for things for ourselves or others.  It’s amazing how one can know something but not really know it.  My conversation with Fr. Reuben was a catalyst~increasing my awareness of how I pray.  It is so easy to pray for others, so easy to pray for something I desire.  I can pray for forgiveness and pray in thanksgiving, but I value this increased awareness to pray in praise.  Real praise.

My heart’s desire is to form my will to praise God in all things.  There will always be storms and struggles.  I will always have people to pray for.  Life’s miracles will warrant prayers of thanks.  I want to wake up praising God simply because He is God.  I want to deepen my understanding of His being, that I might want to join the heavenly host and sing his praises day and night.  My heart needs to seek and find the 10,000 reasons to praise Him!  In the final verse, I am reminded, “On that day when my strength is failing.  The end draws near and my time has come.  Still my soul will sing Your praise unending.  10,000 years and then forevermore.”  I am always in tears by this line.  I think of those I have lost, of those who are ill and facing their final days.  I long to be so in love with God that I will not fear death.  I want to have a soul that sings as I cross to God’s amazing arms.  Bless the Lord, O My Soul!

Lyrics and Video to the song, “10,000 Reasons” are available at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXDGE_lRI0E

2 responses to “Bless The Lord, O My Soul!

  1. Joan McCarthy says:

    Dear dear Charlene, You have me in tears and I miss you so. Love and Blessings, Joan

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

