Becoming Holy

Jesus, I trust in You

on August 2, 2013

Image

It’s the first Friday of the month and after a few soul-searching weeks, I find myself thankful for this beautiful day.  Upon awakening, I felt my heart cry out, “Jesus, I trust in You.”  Each Friday is held sacred as the day of the week Jesus died on the cross.  Christians draw strength from this beautiful day when we were redeemed by His sacred blood.  The first Friday of each month has been beautifully set apart as a day to honor Jesus’ Sacred heart.  From my earliest days, my mom instilled in me a love for First Friday.  Jesus had appeared to a nun, Sr. Margaret Mary Alocoque, and asked that devotion to His Sacred heart be established on the first Friday of each month.  We are asked to pray in reparation for all sins committed against Jesus’ Sacred Heart.  Attending Mass, meditating on the Sacred Heart, and reconciliation are all part of this day.  Many churches have Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament.  We are blessed here with 40 hours of Adoration each First Friday.

I wonder, in my own heart, how much better off the world would be if we all spent time in prayerful thanksgiving each Friday~remembering the gift of Jesus’ sacrifice.  I believe Jesus is calling each of us to a deeper love with Him.  The beauty of devotions like First Friday devotions is the REMINDER to take time and offer specific prayer.  It is easy for me to “believe” I have devotion to Jesus and let days pass without showing this.  I cherish that one day each month is set aside for the purpose of honoring the heart of Jesus.  Some people are put off by this type of ritual or tradition.  It speaks to my heart, to the need I have for order and the focus this brings to life.  Like the seasons of the year, there is a beauty in the seasons and feasts of Christianity.  Our hearts desire continuity, punctuated by points of grace.

Jesus made beautiful promises to St. Margaret Mary to all who participate in first Friday devotions.  They touch my heart and give me hope.  They remind me how, as a parent, I promise good things to my children to encourage them to do good~knowing they will be doubly blessed.  Asking Jesus to bless each of us and inspire us to what He wills.  Jesus, I trust in You!!!

The Promises of the Sacred Heart of Jesus to St. Margaret Mary

(1) "I will give them all the graces necessary in their state of 
life. 

(2) I will establish peace in their homes. 

(3) I will comfort them in all their afflictions. 

(4) I will be their secure refuge during life, and above all, in 
death. 

(5) I will bestow abundant blessings upon all their undertakings. 

(6) Sinners will find in my Heart the source and infinite ocean of mercy. 

(7) Lukewarm souls shall become fervent. 

(8) Fervent souls shall quickly mount to high perfection. 

(9) I will bless every place in which an image of my Heart is exposed and honored. 

10) I will give to priests the gift of touching the most hardened hearts. 

(11) Those who shall promote this devotion shall have their names written in my Heart. 

(12) I promise you in the excessive mercy of my Heart that my all-powerful love will grant to all those who receive 
Holy Communion on the First Fridays in nine consecutive months the grace of final perseverance; they shall not die in
my disgrace, nor without receiving their sacraments. My divine Heart shall be their safe refuge in this last moment."

Asking Jesus to bless each of us and inspire us to what He wills.  Jesus, I trust in You!!!
Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

