Becoming Holy

There is No Place Like Home

on August 1, 2013

Image

There is no place like home…the trouble is sometimes knowing where home is.  I have been struggling a lot lately~emotions overcoming me like a “not-so-amusing” amusement park ride.  My heart hurts.  I miss having a sense of normalcy.  This past year has been full of change.  Joe switched careers after 23 years.  Jordan determined that her call to join the Sisters of Life would begin this August.  We sold our home, moved our family and began building anew.

I don’t know what this new life will bring.  I’m uncertain how long it will take for this to be home.  From the moment we said, “I do” back in 1990, home has been with Joe.  We have found joy in Connell, Richland and Pasco, Washington.  There was a home and joy in Filer and Twin Falls, Idaho.  We returned to Washington and made “home” in Kennewick.  Now back to Idaho, to where we were born and raised.  As I share from my heart, I think this will make most sense to those who have moved away, who have made family out of friends and created “home” in new places.  There is a tremendous amount of investment in new people and new places if one is going to make it feel like home.  Every move we have made has taken about a year of intense effort before things stabilize.

And so I go through the motions.  Finding dentists, doctors, somewhere to have our hair cut.  We have a definite advantage this time in moving back.  We have family.  We know people in the community.  Deep inside I hope this makes the transition easier and maybe will cut the time to less than a year.  I ponder life and wonder what things God knows, what His plans are and how He will use this move to help us glorify Him.  I wonder if the loneliness of moving and the uncertainty of life are all part of the “Refiner’s Fire.”  I hope that God doesn’t feel compelled to hold me over the flame too long!

Just like our house in the picture, we are a work in progress.  The land we bought is more than a little rocky and so we truly have “built our house on solid rock.”  It is going up little by little.  The firm foundation reminds me of our faith.  The progress is sometimes quick and sometimes delayed~a lot like this spiritual journey.  There are some really cool features in our house and other parts that are functional but not fancy.

As we build, I look forward to the day when our home will be filled with friends and family.  I think of the love and laughter that will be shared there.  I think of the welcome Jordan will have returning at Christmas.  I envision the happiness of our children and their friends.  My heart begins to smile.  I remember how quickly time passes.  It will not be long and we will feel at home here.  We will open the doors of our home and our hearts to all God has planned for us.

Leave a Reply

Team Buna

Phillippians 4: 6-7 "Cast your cares upon the Lord & He will give you a peace and grace beyond understanding" ....in other words.... As Bob Marley sang it, "Say, don't worry, about a 'ting, cuz every little 'ting, is gonnna be alright!"

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

