Becoming Holy

“The Proof of Your Love”

on July 5, 2013

095

It’s a gorgeous morning…rhubarb crisp is baking in the oven and I’m listening to a CD Jordan made for me.  The opening song, “The Proof of Your Love”  by For King and Country reminds me of my obligation to be living proof of God’s love.  Check the lyrics out at the end of this blog.  I typically cry my way through the CD.  Why?  Many reasons…I know these songs were hand picked by my oldest daughter for me.  Our entire family has a passion for Christian music and I am very guilty of listening to my favorites and not taking time to listen to what is new.  The girls have a gift at knowing which songs will speak to my heart and each new CD becomes my “new” favorite and I listen to it over and over until the words are imprinted on my spirit.  There are a few songs on the CD that bring more tears than others.  Some empower me.  Some make me aware of the weight of my Christian obligation.  Some remind me of how short life is.  Others are love songs from God that overwhelm me with His mighty love for me.  

I think this CD has particular grace for me because I listen to it with the heart of a mom who is trying to live in the moment of these last months before Jordan leaves to discern a vocation with the Sisters of Life.  My heart swells with JOY at Jordan’s decision to enter the postulancy and simultaneously aches at what this means for our family.  Our sweet daughter will be leaving in the last days of August to join the Sisters of Life in New York City.  They were formed in 1991~the year Jordan was born~by Cardinal O’Connor in response to the need for a Culture of Life.  The Sisters do amazing works and have grown to a community of 70 plus members.  You can learn more about them by checking out http://www.sistersoflife.org/ 

I marvel at how God is using Jordan’s life to be “the proof of His love” and how He expects us as her family to do the same.  The chorus of the song sings to Jesus “How you lived, How you died, Love is Sacrifice.  So Let my life be the proof, the proof of your love.”  Love IS Sacrifice.  I am reminded that all sacrifice is GIFT to Jesus, to His Father, and is a mighty working of the Spirit.  The song, rooted in Scripture, reminds me that every action must have Love as its foundation or it is wasted.  I am called to love, to be filled with love, to share that love with all I meet.  Christ can only be made present in love.

This love is a mighty thing.  It powerful and beyond comprehension.  In Romans 6:27,28 we read about our victory in Christ~

“In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words; and He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.”

God, our amazing Father, will help me in my weakness.  He will guide my prayers.  His Spirit will groan on my behalf.  I believe that is why I cry when I listen to Christian music.  The Spirit is so very present in the lyrics.  He overwhelms my spirit and springs forth in my tears. I am praying God’s will be done in each of our lives.  Thanking Him for each day and striving to be the “proof of His Love.”

 “The Proof Of Your Love”

 

If I sing but don’t have love
I waste my breath with every song
I bring an empty voice, a hollow noise
If I speak with a silver tongue
Convince a crowd but don’t have love
I leave a bitter taste with every word I saySo let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your loveIf I give
To a needy soul but don’t have love then who is poor?
It seems all the poverty is found in meSo let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
Oh, let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your loveWhen it’s all said and done
When we sing our final song
Only love remains
Only love remainsLet my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love.
If you want to listen to this, go to  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qyrpy-DJ8Lk
Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

