Becoming Holy

The One the Wind and Waves Obey

on July 2, 2013

Image

This morning began with a quick drive out to our new home site.  Prince Charming and I grabbed coffee at home, jumped in the pickup and rode together to see what progress had been made.  We said a prayer for the safety of our builders as they frame in the deck with heavy beams.  We returned just in time to walk to Mass at 6:15 am.  My cousin, Fr. Reuben Nuxoll is home, visiting from Chile and is generously saying Mass for the community.  The reading today was about Lot and the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah.  The Gospel was the story of the storm at sea.  Jesus was sleeping and a terrible storm came up and struck fear in the hearts of the disciples.  Jesus asked them why they were afraid and proceeded to calm the storm.  Fr. Reuben reflected on this beautifully.  He spoke of the external storms that surround us and how, like the apostles, we have no control over them.  We were challenged to deepen our faith and “sleep with Jesus” rather than living in fear.  Fr. Reuben then spoke of the “wind and waves” inside each of our spiritual lives.  Do we trust?  Do we fear?  Why do we allow the anxieties to take over instead of having the faith in Jesus to take care of us.  

For me, this was a profound message at a much needed time.  Storm clouds always seem to be gathering~both externally and internally.  I find myself trying to control the actions of others, worrying about the weather, influencing how others perceive me.  I struggle with a lack of trust that God truly has my best interests at heart.  I look to the future and fear what it may hold.  I plot.  I plan.  I fail.  I find myself searching for Jesus~telling Him about this terrible storm, questioning why He hasn’t noticed and fixed it.  

It is time to take a deep breath.  To find a cot next to Jesus.  Ignore the waves.  Ignore the wind.  Notice how peaceful Jesus is.  He and His Father have this.  They have a Plan.  A perfect Plan. My job is to let Him do His job.  To rest with Him.  To breathe with Him.  To sync my thoughts to His thoughts.  To stay so close to Him that there is no choice but to be at peace.   

Leave a Reply

Team Buna

Phillippians 4: 6-7 "Cast your cares upon the Lord & He will give you a peace and grace beyond understanding" ....in other words.... As Bob Marley sang it, "Say, don't worry, about a 'ting, cuz every little 'ting, is gonnna be alright!"

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

