Becoming Holy

A Dessert to Treasure

on May 16, 2013

photo 1 (5)This has been an interesting week to say the least.  Last week, on Ascension Thursday, I received a frantic phone call from my sister.  Aunt Anna had fallen and Mom had fallen with her in the process of trying to break her fall.  Aunt Anna had a cut in her head and Mom had received a broken tibia for her valor!  That is a blog in itself…but today, I am focusing on this precious 107 year old woman.  She has lived alone since her husband passed away twenty years ago.  Aunt Anna is a woman of deep faith and is constantly praying for those around her.  Since the “incident” last week, she is weakened and wondering why Jesus doesn’t come and take her home.

Yesterday, my sister, Lisa, and I, were helping her at dinner time.  We were talking about gardens and how busy this time of year is getting.  Aunt Anna decided that “Everyone better get busy!”  I mentioned that we have four rhubarb plants at the home we are renting.  She said she likes rhubarb pie.  I asked if she would like one with ice cream.  In her 107 years she had never tried putting icecream with rhubarb pie.  Sounded like fun!  So this morning, I was inspired to make a rhubarb crunch for this beautiful woman.

First, the rhubarb…

photo 5 (4)

What a BLESSING!  The plants are still needing time to grow, but God provided enough rhubarb to meet the 4 cup requirement!  First I mixed up the Crunch layer:  1 3/4 cups flour, 1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed, 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 cup butter.  I used my pastry cutter until the mix was nice and crumbly.

photo 1 (3)

Half of this crumb mixture was pressed into the bottom of an ungreased 9 X 9 glass pan.

photo 4 (3)

Next, I cut the rhubarb with my food scissors, into little pieces.

photo 2 (3)

The four cups of rhubarb were spread evenly on the crumb mixture in the pan.

photo 5 (3)

Next, I combined 1 cup sugar, 2 T. corn starch, 1 cup water and 1 tsp. vanilla in a sauce pan and cooked until thick and clear.

photo 1 (4)

This was poured over the top of the rhubarb layer.

photo 2 (4)

I topped this with the other half of the original crumb mixture and baked at 350 degrees.

photo 3 (4)

The recipe called for 45-60 minutes of baking time.  Mine took 55 minutes to be golden brown and bubbly.

photo 2 (5)

The house smelled amazing!  The dessert was beautiful!  The treasured part, though, is that Aunt Anna was so tickled to have this dessert.  My sister picked it up from my house and delivered it for lunch~complete with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!  I treasure having the opportunity to bring a bit of JOY into this incredible woman’s life.  Thank you, God, for rhubarb, for cookbooks, and for priceless moments with a beautiful, treasured aunt!  Amen.

4 responses to “A Dessert to Treasure

  1. Joan says:

    You are a treasure and a blessing and I love you!

  2. mommy24girls says:

    I couldn’t take care of her without you and she really did love the dessert, so thank you!

  3. charstar87 says:

    I love you, too, sweet Joan! Big hugs to you in the Netherlands!

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

