Becoming Holy

Coffee, Anyone?

on April 3, 2013

photo (20)I woke up this morning at 6 am.  It felt earlier than it was because I’d been up until 2 am.  I was tired, yet excited for the day.  I knew if I shut my eyes, I might sleep through morning Mass, so I got up and showered and decided I could always take a nap later.  Jordan and I went to Mass and I thanked God for letting me hear the message of Easter Week.  The first reading was from the book of Acts and took place on the day of Pentecost when the Holy Spirit filled the apostles with courage and three thousand were baptized.  The Gospel was from John and shared the story of Jesus’ appearance to Mary Magdalene at the tomb.  I was reminded that we are called to keep Easter ALIVE in our hearts.  In the words of St. Augustine, “We are an Easter people and alleluia is our song!”   What an awesome holiday!  Fifty days of celebration culminating in the Feast of Pentecost~the birth of the Church.

Following Mass, Jordan offered to treat for coffee at Dutch Brothers.  For those who are unfamiliar, Dutch Bros. coffee lids are imprinted with positive messages.  I was absolutely delighted to read my message, “Get up Early.  Stay up Late.  Change The World.”  YES!  YES!  YES!  Who needs a nap?  This sweet message left me feeling empowered.  Like the apostles, we are called to live our lives for Jesus.  We are called to Change the World!  

Our family, like so many others, spent our Sunday nights during Lent watching the mini-series, “The Bible.”  Easter Sunday night was the powerful conclusion.  As I listened to the reading from the book of Acts, I could not help but see the scenes from “The Bible” play out in my head.  The apostles and other disciples were gathered around the table on Pentecost awaiting the coming of the Holy Spirit.  They were beginning to get discouraged that the promised Spirit had not yet come.  Peter suggested they pray and began to lead them in the Our Father.  It was so awesome to watch as the Spirit came and each began to pray and proclaim Christ as Lord.  I had goosebumps as I watched them transformed by the spirit, knowing that we are called to the same transformation.  Thousands came to believe through them and 3000 were added to their number.  

I most clearly see that I need to follow the example of the early church.  First of all, have faith.  Second, gather with other believers.  Third, don’t just talk about faith~live it.  Most importantly, pray together.  Expect the Spirit to come.  Everything else will follow~the Holy Spirit will lead us exactly where we are to go.

Today is the day.  Get up Early.  Stay up Late.  Change the World!

One response to “Coffee, Anyone?

  1. Fr. Bruce Wren says:

    That’s it, Charlene: Get up Early. Stay up Late. Change the World! Joe would say it another way: got to push it! God bless all your family! Fr. Bruce

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

