Becoming Holy

He heals the broken hearted…

on February 4, 2013

images“How else but through a broken heart may Lord Christ enter in?” ― Oscar Wilde

This was my Facebook status quote for the day.  It spoke to me in the early hours of the morning.  I have a friend who posted about today being thirteen years since she lost her beloved mom.  I have another friend whose mother is in the hospital and cannot seem to build up her strength.  Another requested prayers for a young mom named, Gina, who is in the hospital dying of cancer~she has ten children~the youngest being two years old.  My sister’s friend just lost her 38 year old husband, with no apparent cause and two young children to raise.  The weight of these situations settled on my soul like a heavy blanket~the kind so heavy that your feet feel smothered from the weight and pressure of the coverings.  

I went to Mass to pray for these and others who need prayer~all the while realizing that Jesus is in each of these situations, entering into each and transforming everything He is allowed to transform.  I looked around the church and saw more broken-hearts~newly widowed men and women, a couple having Mass said for the son they lost, people with sick family members.  In this intimate setting, I saw what I already know~the hope we have in Jesus.  Jesus comes to us when our hearts are broken.  He knocks at the door of our heart and awaits our response.  It doesn’t even matter to Him if we open the door right away or if we sit on the other side in anger or in fear~refusing to let Him into our brokenness.  He knocks and He waits.  He is the tender lover in the Song of Solomon who says, “I have found whom my heart loves.  I held him and will not let him go…”(Song of Solomon 3:4.)  He draws us to Himself and holds us until our grief is transformed.

If I have learned one thing from the various losses I have experienced in my life, it is that we all have our own timeline for healing and our own way of healing.  It is not for one person to tell another, “Get better.  Jesus is in this.  This is God’s will.”  Those words are so hollow and do not rest easily on the ears of the brokenhearted.  If we are one of the broken, it is good to be prepared for well-meaning souls to say the wrong thing.  It is also important to learn from our own woundedness and seek to not inflict wounds on others.  Our gift for others can be as simple, and as powerful, as invoking Jesus on behalf of the broken.  Sustaining them with prayer and supplications~asking Jesus to show Himself to them in the midst of the sorrow.  Psalm 34:19 reminds us that “The LORD is close to the brokenhearted, [and] saves those whose spirit is crushed.”  Jesus heals in ways unknown to us.  We are like the friends of the paralytic, who must carry our friends to Jesus for healing and trust that He will heal.

My prayer today is for the brokenhearted.  Heavenly Father, draw the broken to your Son.  Help us to call on the name of the Lord.  . Help all of us to become stretcher-bearers for one another.  May the ways we reach out to the broken be truly helpful.  Please open and bless each of the broken hearts I mentioned today and grant healing to all.  Come into our hearts, Lord Jesus.  Find your home with us.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

