Becoming Holy

Baking Bread

on February 1, 2013

I know this is going to sound crazy, but there are a few things in life that make me feel like an amazing mom.  One is making homemade chicken noodle soup (especially if the noodles are homemade!)  The other is baking bread of any kind.  Yesterday, I woke up needing to do something affirming for myself.  So, despite the busyness of the day, I found myself digging out the recipe for Hot Cross Buns.  My lovely daughters were quick to help.  Maddie found the recipe and Nicole helped form the dough.  For some reason, those two have a “connection” with this recipe and they light up when they hear the words, “hot cross buns.”  We made them the first time during Lent, several years back.  We substituted craisins for the currants and raisins that the original recipe called for.  I have never bought currants in my life and the craisins were a big hit in our house!  So, even though it isn’t Lent yet, we decided to tackle the recipe again.

Not very far into the process, I found myself in a dilemma.  We had to leave to run errands and we were right in the middle of the process.  I called my mom for advice~would the dough be okay if it more than doubled?  She assured me it would be fine, and it was!  On returning home, we were welcomed to that “warm-house, bread-rising,  totally-homey” feeling.  It took me back to my childhood when Mom would bake bread and the whole world felt like things were as they should be.  We were able to share a plate of the hot cross buns with a friend and still have plenty left for the kids to enjoy.  I really enjoy making this Holy Saturday for Easter!

Here is the recipe for all interested:

Traditional Hot Cross Buns

2 packages active dry yeast

2 cups warm milk (110 to 115 degrees)

1/3 cup butter, softened

2 eggs lightly beaten

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 tsp. salt

6 to 7 cups flour

1 cup craisins (or 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup currants)

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp allspice

2 T water

1 egg yolk

Confectioners sugar icing

Dissolve yeast in milk in mixing bowl.  (I use my KitchenAid)  Stir in butter, eggs, sugar and salt.  Combine 3 cups flour, craisins, cinnamon and allspice; add to yeast mixture and mix well.  Stir in enough flour to form a soft dough.  Mix in Kitchen Aid until smooth and elastic, or knead on floured surface until smooth/elastic.  Place in a greased bowl~turn once to grease top.  Cover and let rise until double, about one hour.  Punch down, shape into 1 1/2 inch balls.  Place 2 inches apart on greased baking sheet.  Use a sharp knife to score a cross shape on each roll.  Cover and let rise until double (about 30 min.)  Beat water and egg yolk together, brush on rolls.  Bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes until golden brown.  Cool on wire racks.  Pipe icing on rolls.  Makes 2 1/2 dozen.  Enjoy!

005

4 responses to “Baking Bread

  1. Marilyn Lerandeau says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I started reading your post and I thought I want that recipe. I agree there is nothing like bread baking to make the world feel right. Thanks for your wonderful words and I hope you have a wonderful Friday.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Those hot cross buns were amazing! Thank you for having me over & sharing those wonderfully tasting buns with me! I love you more and more all the time! Your blog is so spiritually driven! Thank you for sharing your story with us. Your whole family is such an inspiration to me!

Leave a Reply

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

Seven Angels, Four Kids, One Family

Sometimes sarcasm is the only sane response

