Becoming Holy

Mopping Up!!

on January 31, 2013

This morning at Mass, our priest gave a homily that was so profound.  He was speaking of the Creed and told us to take notice that Jesus is “seated” at the right hand of the Father.  Jesus is not standing.  The battle is over.  He sacrificed once, for all.  Father Auve said that what we are doing now is more of a “mop up” job.  I broke into a grin!  This imagery is something I can totally relate to and participate in.  As a stay at home mom, I certainly can appreciate the “mop up” scene.  After all, floors get walked on, items are broken, things spill, and someone has to clean up.  Despite Jesus’ perfect sacrifice, we live in an imperfect world and are left with the grime that evil and sin leave behind.  

As I drove home from Mass, pondering the battle scene of Christ’s crucifixion, His victory, and now our participation in mopping up, I realized something.  When I am mopping and really want things to be clean or need to get into every corner and crevice, I don’t use a damp mop or a squeeze mop~I get down on my knees and make sure I’ve gotten it all.  It was one of those “ah-ha” moments.  I know God spoke to me this morning to remind me that my best work in the Kingdom is when I take time to kneel down and pray.  It is the part of “mopping up” that I am most equipped to do. It’s also the part that I most often neglect to do.  It is so easy for me to get caught up in being and doing and talking and thinking~I forget to structure prayer into my day and spend time doing what God most desires of me~praying.  

The message God had for me today actually inspired me to do some ordinary mopping as well.  I found myself mopping the floors and spiritually mopping at the same time.  Prayers for a friend’s mom who is in the hospital, prayers for my 107 year old aunt who is suffering, prayers for my sister-in-law’s nephew, prayers for my husband’s safe travels~all lifted to God along with my chores.  My heart feels lighter, my floors are cleaner (for awhile,) and I am reminded of the power of prayer in my daily life.

Leave a Reply

Team Buna

Phillippians 4: 6-7 "Cast your cares upon the Lord & He will give you a peace and grace beyond understanding" ....in other words.... As Bob Marley sang it, "Say, don't worry, about a 'ting, cuz every little 'ting, is gonnna be alright!"

Burning Brightly

Living for Jesus...dealing with Breast Cancer and Life

HAPPY TRAILS - Idaho

A website dedicated to Horses, their People and the Western Way of Life

Pathways

This is my journey. I write about paths I've traveled, lessons learned and mistakes made. Of course I can't neglect the path I am following right now.

thisiswherethewordscometogether

Sometimes, I like to write things. Sometimes, I also like to post them. This blog has my creative musings, browse and enjoy as you'd like.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Who Needs A Cape?

Not your average super moms

letters from the nest.

notes from a small house on a big farm.

Swimming the Depths

Pursuing holiness in the virtues, beauty, everyday living, and theological study.

